a yarn/thread/fiber loving fool with MS

Doing so much better now.  The crud of last week is almost gone, still have a lingering cough and some occasional sniffles but overall much much better.  Friday I ventured out on the Metro alone.  Destination was Looped Yarn Works in Dupont Circle.    It was a bit of a walk from the Metro stop and when I got there, oh my, it was on the second floor.  Stairs are not a welcome site, but I took em on and made it to my destination.  I had come too far not too try.  Small but nicely organized and super friendly staff.  Showed me around, explained how they were set up, and helped me find some yarn to match RR’s hat I had to fix.  Was informed they were having a “super bowl sunday 40% off sale” on Sunday.  I got some lace weight wool, 1500 yds, on sale for 10 bucks.

Saturday was a trip to Marshal’s & Nordstrom’s Rack in search of me a jacket.  The one I brought from home is not really practical, it goes over the head and is a pain to get off when worn out.  Got a nice one from Nordstrom, on clearance even, got it for $29, was 129. Good deal.  then we went off to an area of DC whose name escapes me, but there was a Container Store, Pottery Barn, Crate & Barel, and others.  I’m not impressed with Pottery Barn, the others however I could visit every day.

Sunday was a SPA DAY!!!  I’ve never been to one and this was not a normal “spa”.  It was a Korean Bath House.  Started with a shower, then a dip in the hot tub, then I got a sea salt body scrub and a full body massage.  OMG, JUST OMG!!!  My skin is as soft as a babies. I got a clay/green tea facial mask, and topped off with a milk rinse.   I stepped in the Sauna for about 15 seconds, not for me.  I don’t think my  MS could take it.  Too Too hot.   After that it was back to Looped Yarn Works to check out the sale, picked up some more yarn, of course.  ALPACA!!  oh so soft.  We were both starving so dinner was at Johnny Rockets, a retro style eat place with real malts.   We then headed home and totally chilled out.

I haven’t done much today.  The day was beautiful.  The trip home on the metro Friday was not as good as the trip back.  Next outing I’ll have to plan a bit better.  This week I hope to get over to the Smithsonian.

Bye from DC.

Leave a comment